My Ermanox Journey

Vince Lupo

Nobody's Mentor
Local time
5:55 AM
I figure this is as good a time as any to start this thread, as I just got the camera back and it's now working.

I've been thinking about this camera for the last 31 years, and finally decided to pull the trigger earlier this year. Why specifically 31 years? Back in November 1990 I had the good fortune to interview Alfred Eisenstaedt in his tiny 28th floor office at the Time Life Building in NYC. I was a first-year undergrad photo student at Ryerson Polytechnic University in Toronto, and I chose Alfred Eisenstaedt as my subject for an assignment. Very long story short, during the course of our interview I casually mentioned that I had seen an Ermanox for sale at 28th St. Photo the previous day. He got very excited and asked me about it, and then we had a conversation about the camera and his use of it, as well as the father of photojournalism, Dr. Erich Salomon. Eisenstaedt told me that he always regretted selling his. From that day of our interview until this year, I've thought about the Ermanox.

This camera was purchased from the LeicaShop in Vienna, and of course it wasn't working. So off to the Marshman it went, and he made it brilliantly come back to life (well, mostly). Though the camera is capable of offering twenty different shutter speed combinations (tension number plus slit width), it is most reliable on only five shutter speeds, plus B (O) and T (Z). Frank told me that the springs were weak, so it's best on 1/25, 1/40, 1/80, 1/150 and 1/300. Replacing the springs would likely only gain me three additional speeds at the top end. For now we'll see how we get on with five.

Here's the kit -- original case and cap, plus I now have a whole bunch of 4.5 x 6cm glass plate holders:

Ermanox1
by Vince Lupo, on Flickr

The lens is the 100/2 Ernostar, which suggests that it's an early version of the camera (plus it does not have the Zeiss Ikon badge), so likely 1924.