No subscription software preferences - Capture One?

MrProvia

Local time
12:12 PM
Hi everyone

I’m an experienced traditional photographer but have zero experience of digital editing.

I’m looking for a no subscription option, initially for editing slide scans that need only modest adjustments, and after that for handling RAW shots from my D750.

I’ll be using a new iMac.

Some of my friends whose opinion I trust have recommended Capture One and are very passionate about it. The price is ok with me and I see that other reviews are generally very positive.

I try to do most of my photography in-camera so I know a lot of products would be more than capable for my modest requirements.

I’d love to hear from anyone who uses Capture One. Will it suit my needs? Is it a steep learning curve? Other options?

Thanks

I've used it. I prefer Adobe Lightroom, though.

What a lot of people don't realize is that the RAW conversion software you use profoundly impacts image quality. Color rendering, fine detail resolution, tonal rendering, noise reduction, etc. Capture One is wonderful for shots done at low ISO speeds. Color and tonal rendering are beautiful and image sharpness is good. What's not good is rendering of high-ISO images. Capture One's noise reduction on high-ISO images is not very good and detail resolution suffers. As for ease of use, it is better than a lot of other software, but not as good as Adobe Lightroom.

Most of the other Adobe-alternatives out there are bad. Slow, poor user interfaces, and low image quality (Skylum Luminar has wonderful image rendering, but the software is slow, overly complex and not easy to use).