Rd-1, my first RF camera!

Dk82

Local time
8:26 PM
Hey everyone,

I'm totally new to the RF world, so please pardon the myriad questions to come. I took the plunge and got an rd-1 body and it's coming in a couple days. I've never felt so excited about Monday before :p

Can the rd-1 take any other lens mounts than Leica M? Can you guys recommend a decent lens to get started? (Hopefully under $$200-300!) Jupiter's look pretty affordable, but how's Iq?

Any tips?

Thanks!
David

congrats…a great start!
they can take a ltm, leica thread mount, lens with an adapter.

the sensor is 1.5 so you need to multiply any focal length by 1.5 to get your fov…
so maybe a 25, for a 37 or so fov might be a good place to start…or a 40mm lens (about a 60 fov) for something with a bit more reach…
hard to say w/o knowing what you like to shoot.

If you bought it in the classifieds, you may have my old camera. I had a lot of fun with that.
I wouldn't start with a jupiter, while they are great lenses. Most will need to be adjusted for critical focus to work well on a digital RF. Unless you find one that is known to work well, missing focus will spoil the fun.
35mm lenses like the voigtlander 35mm f2.5, or the canon 35mm f2 become great standard lenses on the R-D1. They are thread mount and will need a LTM-M adapter to fit.
I mostly used a 28mm lens which is a great all-round focal length on the epson.

28 is the widest you can use with frameline in the viewfinder, without external viewfinder.
If you're worried about the accuracy, there's always compensating the misfocus yourself, stop the lens down, and don't take picture from too close. But it's just walking around the real problem.
the sensor is 1.5 so you need to multiply any focal length by 1.5 to get your fov…
Since he got the R-D1, there's a cheat sheet behind the screen panel :D