Second M8 with major problems right out of the box!

KenBPhotos

Local time
1:32 PM
Some of you might remember me. I bought an M8 about a month ago and the shutter was very loud and then it got the dreaded red vertical line problem. This was within like two weeks time mind you. I return that M8 and get another one in excellent condition. Looks amazing and the shutter is nice and quiet so I was very very happy. I think it even has a sapphire screen and it sounds like it has the quieter shutter in it but it has the 1/8000th option so I'm not sure. It is MAJORLY different sounding than the first M8 I had. This is a 3199 serial and the other one was 3109 serial so maybe that has something to do with it? I'm pretty new to Leica so bear with me...

Anyway, with that back history said I started using this camera today and noticed that the focusing was getting sticky, as in it was getting stuck and not working. So I take the lens off and tried to manual move the focusing roller and it basically was frozen. I tried to work it in and I have it at a point where it's moving but it's not smooth and it's only bouncing back sometimes. With the lens on it goes to infinity then gets stuck. THIS IS SO ANNOYING!!! - the second M8 with major problems right out of the box. I don't understand how you guys deal with these problems. My Canons never had a problem, ever. It's really unbelievable that two separate cameras exhibit different major major fatal issues that prevent me from using them. I'm not sure if this is a sign from the Leica gods that they're not for me or what the deal is, but I am really really frustrated here.