Summilux 35mm pre-asph photos

Ororaro

Well-known
Local time
5:02 AM
There are 2 lenses that I believe wrap up and define what is the elusive "Leica look": The Summilux 35 pre-asph and the Summarit 5cm (clean sample, of course!) and as a third I would place the 21 super-angulon f3.4. This is only my opinion based on long searches and, obviously, shooting experience. Let's not forget that I am not an expert and I don't want to be one.

Some respected RFF members do all what they can to discredit this lens in favor of the newer Zeiss or ASPH offerings. They say it's not sharp, shows light falloff and it flares. My personal thinking is those are part of its qualities and undeniable charm. One doesn't shoot the 35 summilux pre-asph for sharpness per se. One shoots it for its overall very unique rendition.

I know, I know,. I probably sound ultra biased. But believe me, I am not! As a matter of fact, this is the lens I used the least during my trip (about 3 roll total, only!) but my best shots are with this lens. I constantly underestimated its qualities in favor of either the Noctilux or the 21 Super angulon... A mistake.

My two favorite lenses, the 35mm pre-ASPH Summilux and 21 SA-M... :) (coupled with an M4-P) :D

I have not had any problems regarding sharpness when using this lens. OTH I rarely shot wide open.

Bob

Last edited by a moderator:
35 lux

35 lux

yes, love this lens, but foolishly no longer have it.
these two shots from the last day of 2001 as the light was fading...

Attachments

• Confisiere.jpg
    Confisiere.jpg
    56.3 KB · Views: 19
  • Bastille.jpg
    Bastille.jpg
    42.5 KB · Views: 18
I've been trying to get different sorts of shots, but I've noticed something. I think the lens has fog/haze. My shots don't look nearly as crisp as the others posted here :confused: