Voitlander 28/2, Zeiss Biogon 28/2.8, CV 28/3.5? What 28mm lens for CLE?

IgalSc

Established
Local time
3:19 PM
I know, there were threads about it already
None of them is unfortunately recent.
I’d love to have the Minolta 28/2.8 lens, but I’m not sure I can actually find a clean one these days.
I love shooting street, and I love doing it in low light as well.
What lens would you recommend today?

Thanks ahead
Igal

I can’t speak for the others, but I’ve been using the VM 28/f2 on my M2 for several years (and recently a Z6) and have absolutely no complaints. Fast, wonderful rendering, well made and great handling. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.

The Ultron 28mm f2 VM is built to last forever and… it has the coveted focusing tab! Image quality is outstanding as well.

All the best,
Mike

I recently got the CLE and I have the Zeiss 28mm F2.8.

Just the heads up that if you use the circular lens hood, it blocks the rangefinder patch on the CLE. Not 100% blockage, and it moves depending on focus distance, so you can make it work. But it's not ideal.

I also recently picked up an Elmarit (latest generation with the current lens hood), and that doesn't have the same issue. But obviously it's a far more pricey lens, and not one
I necessarily find is "better" than the Zeiss. Still, for now it's on the CLE due to the rangefinder patch blockage issue.

Haven't tried the Voigtlanders on the CLE -- the F3.5 is certainly interesting, but if you like low light street shooting, F2.0 is F2.0...

Many years ago, before I got sick and had to sell off my Leica gear, I had the Zeiss 28mm f2.8. In the last year or so, I have been rebuilding my gear and I bought the Voigtlander 28mm f3.5 because I can use it on my screwmount Leicas and my M3.

The Zeiss lens is incredibly sharp, but like all the ZM lenses I have used it is too contrasty for my liking, and it vignetted a lot even stopped down (sides were darker than the middle).