Which Leica is the best for street photography?

cam

the need for speed
Local time
3:41 PM
Short and sweet... I am fairly new to rangefinders, having bought the Epson R-D1 and fallen in love with the whole RF experience. However, many of the shots I would like to take on the street (which is mostly what I do), I can't -- because the camera is so loud. I realise film is the only way to go here, so... Which camera is the most silent and unobtrusive of the lot?

I'm not in a huge hurry, but would like to know what to look out for so I can swoop up a deal if I come across it. I have a small collection of M-mount lenses and would obviously prefer to use these on the camera. You can get an adaptor to make screw-mount lenses work on M-mount cameras -- is the opposite true as well? (please excuse my ignorance here)

thank you in advance,
cam

They're all fine.

No, you can't put M onto screw. M bodies were made 1mm thinner to allow the adapter.

After that, it's what you can afford. I reckon the MP is the best Leica I have ever used, and it would be the last to go if I got rid of my Ms (2x M2, M4-P, MP, M8).

Cheers,

R.

Hi,
If you want silence the Hexar AF or any Rolleiflex/cord will be much more silent than any Leica.
I think the M7 is the best because of the AE. But any Leica will do.
Also a Ricoh GX100 or GRD in snapshot mode is fast and very silent.

Cheers,

Michiel Fokkema

thank you, Roger. i just looked at the prices for the -- yikes! i may have to start slightly more modestly, but it's nice to know the dream.

thank you for alternatives, Michael. and, yes, silence is important to me. i always thought the Leicas where the quietest... i have the GRD and love it to death for stealth shots. but sometimes i find myself wanting more. hence, the Epson. but my oh my is it loud! as is the M8...

LOL! i just saw the limited edition Hermes version of the MP... :p