Young photogs how are you?

Georgiy Romanov

stray cat
Local time
11:03 PM
Friends, I need a vest to cry. I'm 31 and love photography. I love it so much that I decided that this is my vocation and can be a profession BUT something goes wrong and real world always try to say me that you can't earn money for living from your photography. Suppose I'm a good photographer and bad bussinesman. It could be much easier if I would a regular wedding photographer with big DSLR but I'm working on my personal documental projects with cheap film cameras. I'm working on them for years and as a result I have more visually strong content. But nobody care about it. You can't be a PRO in Russia with such style as mine.

Anyway. If you can't making money from your photography you must still eat something and have if not a full time job but part time job. For the last 6 years I was an entrepreneur, bicycle mechanic, engineer, content manager, now I am a photolaborator. For those years my life was looks like: earn some money, buy film, taking pictures, making books, exhibitions. All In anticipation of success or progress. Was a lot of fun but nothing happend. My parents are starting to worry about me and my future. They told that this can't continue for long if I want to provide for myself and my future family I should find a new good job and leave photography or stay it as a hobby. I'm agreed with them but as a result have deep depression. It was 3 years ago.

In any case, I began to prepare for the worst and start learning new language (Japanese) in that bad time for my new (as I think) future. Depression is gone, but doubts remained. To resolve doubts, I sold my Leica stuff this year and bought tickets to Japan. The X time in november. Stop buying film, cameras and tacking pictures. Saving any penny on geisha's :angel: You know, I keep a positive attitude. Before I give up I want to make sure that I've done everything I can.