Which PEN F to buy?

shorelineae

Finder of ranges
Local time
3:01 PM
I have a Ricoh Caddy that I love and decided I want a half-frame camera that will allow me to focus accurately in low-light (indoors) situations. The Caddy's meter works fine too, and I am able to shoot very fast with it (zone-focused).

So I looked at the smaller PEN models and they seem too similar to the Caddy to be of interest. Hence, the PEN F series makes sense for me. I'm a 50mm guy normally, so a Olympus PEN F with a 38mm seems the obvious choice.

The big question is: which should I go for: F or FT or FV :-O I have read about the differences and I can't make up my mind.

The meter would be useful to have. How badly does it affect viewfinder brightness?

How painful is double-stroke vs single-stroke (I've never used a double-stroke camera before).

Condition of the sample you find is probably more important than any differences among the Pen F models. I have two FT and one FV and was a bit surprised that this FV's viewfinder isn't any brighter than the others. May need cleaning... These are old cameras from the 1960s so I would say just go with the best sample you find. The FT runs fine without batteries, and FWIW the FT metering is kinda weird anyway!

The double-stroke film advance is easy to get used to, and is a smart design decision... because there is right-angle gearing in there to cock the rotating shutter. The wind lever's shaft is vertical while the shutter rotates on a horizontal axis. This gearing tends to be a bit delicate I understand, and is prone to feeling pretty rough. Be gentle!

If you want to actually use the camera (as opposed to show it off as a collectible item) then better stay away from the Pen F. Both the Pen FT and the Pen FV are more advanced designs and hence, more reliable. The F has one single spring to move mirror and aperture; the FT and FV have two. Furthermore, the F's rotating shutter hits a hard stop; FT and FV use a two-step brake.